Imbolc 2012

We are getting some lovely signs of the beginning of Spring here in Ohio. (At least where I am.) It’s cool outside but the sun is shining and the grass is green. It makes me start thinking about looking for what I’d like to do in my garden this year. I’ve decided to start experimenting with some of the poisonous plants in my area and gathering them to my door. Like a fool last year I was mowing and I cut down a nice bunch of Henbane without a second thought. Mainly because I didn’t know what it was. This year when I see it coming up, I’ll leave a sacrifice, pull it up and replant it closer to the house so it stays safe. Also when walking in the park and around Yellow Springs I’ve seen Bittersweet Nightshade growing in shady places. I’ll have to transport some of that too. In previous years my garden has been largely the veggie variety and I’ve had decent luck with it so far. I also need to grow some sage and perhaps try and cultivate some blackberries. I’ve always wanted a nice bush in the thicket out back.

It’s also getting temperate enough that I might be able to search for hag stones to add to The Red Lass. I’ve been debating making charms and necklaces with them for a while now but the rivers around here have been freezing cold and snowy. I did a poll on my FB page and people have indicated that they want to see more jewelry and talismans so I need to get to work on that. Also I am about to put in an order for the herbs and packaging I need. My on-line half of the business isn’t too productive (not 1 order since it opened). However the vending portion is making it quite nicely and with Spring Fling and Farmer’s Markets not too far away I need a good supply built up. I’m still largely staying away from witchcraft related items in my shop. Number 1: I think we all know the Witch of the Forest Grove has that well covered, and Number 2: This is Ohio. I don’t even tell most people about my practice because of the reactions I’ve gotten before.

Imbolc is fast approaching and I’ve considered making candles both for myself and to sell in the shop. I also want to make a few Brigid’s Cross for the house.

 

3 Responses to “Imbolc 2012”

  1. The Witch of Forest Grove does have that pretty well covered, but when it comes to charms I think we each have our own spin on some things. Try to make a few and see what happens. 🙂 Maybe you’ll develop something new!

  2. By the way, I really enjoy your blog and so am giving you this award! http://ditzydruid.wordpress.com/2012/01/31/versatile-blogger-award/ No pressure to do it yourself – I know it’s very meme-like. I just wanted you to know that I like reading your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

