St. Patrick’s Day

A lot of wiccans talk about how many holidays the Catholic church stole from our “traditions” in order to help bring pagans to Christ. Well in all truth…I don’t care. I really don’t. They weren’t doing anything hundreds of religions have done through out time and frankly it feels as though we stole a lot back (in wiccan rituals and alters at least). Part of the reason holidays exist around certain times of year is because there has ALWAYS been some sort of celebration regarding the cycle of seasons and changing weather. Therefor I have no compunctions about celebrating secular holidays right alongside the formatted pagan ones.

That being said…

I’m gonna wear green (even though green is technically for the Catholics and orange is for Protestants) and get drunk.

The Spring Equinox is coming up and I’m planning on starting a new batch of mead! The last one went wonderfully well and thankfully I have friends who are more then willing to provide me with honey in exchange for future meads. I am actually surprising myself by being not entirely sucky at this! I will still need to sweeten it before it’s bottled in April but beyond that I am just having a blast!

Leave a Reply

