Possiby seeking coven

Something about Beltane makes me restless.

Never mind that it feels more like Imbolc around here. Friggin Ohio weather.

Maybe it’s the thought of gigantic bonfires or the opening of the spirit world or the fact that any excuse to have a grand amount of sex in the name of the fertility of the earth is a good excuse. 😀

Beltane is another one of the big fire festivals, a pretty important time for pagans. It is a time during which livestock was driven between two fires to purify them before setting them back out into the field with their new offspring to graze. People danced around the Maypoles (a decorated representation of a phallus) to encourage fertility in the earth, the livestock, and themselves. It was a popular time for weddings, when couples were hand fasted for a year with one another to see if they were able to remain married and start a family together.

I’ll take some time today to decorate my altar. I am considering some ripe fertility symbols both indoors and in the yard. Though I’m not sure how well a 20 foot penis on the lawn would go over…

Heh.

I will admit something though. Sometimes it can be difficult to celebrate the holidays when you don’t really have anyone to celebrate with. Once again I find myself in that awkward position of wanting and yet avoiding contact with other witches. Casual meetings go well enough. Pagan Pride Days are always interesting and a good experience (I have a thing for drum circles :D) to have. But for most groups the big holidays are private affairs and outside witches just aren’t invited. Which I understand well enough, but at the same time…I do kinda miss it.

Yes, yes I know I’m whining and not doing anything about it.

There are a couple of local groups. One is eclectic with a strong clergy training feel and the other is female centered with emphasis on family. Not sure if either is still running though. Pagan groups have a tendency to go in and out, members break apart and such.

I have debated starting my own group, but at the moment I have enough on my plate. Not to mention I don’t really have any credentials that would make me qualified to head a group.

Maybe something casual though. Nothing too formal, just get together, worship, exchange ideas… perhaps.

There comes a time when we all seek the kinship of our fellows.

Leave a Reply

