Altars to Hekate

For a while now I have been feeling a significant pull towards the Greek all-goddess. I’ve been doing my best to learn more about her from a historical and modern ritual perspective and between Hekate’s Liminal Rights by Sorita d’Este (very dry…informative and historical but very very dry), and Temple of Hekate by Tara Sanchez I feel ready to start physically and mentally working with her to a stronger degree. Part of this (at least for me) is creating a strong presence of her in my home. I had originally created an altar to Hekate a while ago, but it was…well… Have you ever wanted really bad to produce something spectacular and had to settle for second best because it’s all that was available at the time?

Yeah her altar is kinda that.

But I really decided to make this a project! I found something at my local Pat Catans that I think I can turn into a really bad-ass altar!

Yes I know technically it’s a boat, but erase that from your mind. I see it as a shrine. An alcove dedicated to Hekate. I’ll have to paint it and give it a coat of clear so it shines. I’m thinking black on the outside, using a lovely gold mesh scarf to give it a gentle draping curtain.

Top Layer: Black, Hekate statue, candles, incense.
Middle Layer: Red, scrying mirror, offerings
Bottom Layer: White, items being charged, ritual objects

It’s a long term project but none the less I think it’s a really good way to start integrating her into my life. This is a nice way to show my dedication. It will also be the first time I do a full ritual to Hekate. Whole nine yards people. Hymns and everything.

Is it wrong to be excited enough to squee?

2 Responses to “Altars to Hekate”

  1. I think that is awesome – and the journey is a big part of the joy as well. Can’t wait to see the finished altar. I tip my hat to you and Hekate …

  2. This should turn at amazing! Post pictures when you are done!

Leave a Reply

