Archive for February 27, 2012

Children’s Book Reviews

Posted in Book Review, Books, Fun and interesting with tags on February 27, 2012 by theredlass

I’ve been looking for a project for some time, something both to keep busy, fill out my WP a bit more, and attract some attention to my blog and my shop. This in tandem with my current classes in Children’s Literature lead to only one inevitable conclusion.

I’m going to do a book review once a week. But instead of looking at adult literature, I’m going to be focusing primarily children’s lit. I am still working on all the criteria & formatting, but the books will be those which specifically lend themselves to paganism and witchcraft either intentionally or unintentionally and would be excellent additions to any home library of children’s bookshelf. I will give a preview of what the review will include below, but I also want to get some feedback as to what I could include and any books out there people would like me to review to start out with.

IF YOU WANT TO SUBMIT A BOOK FOR REVIEW:
*Children’s Literature is primarily anything written for someone under the age of 12. Anything for an older age group could be considered adult literature as more mature content is included and thus the content becomes more subjective to interpretation. The books I will be reviewing will be for those 12 and under.
*While I will be including books which are intentionally written by and for the pagan community, I also want to include those with paganism and witchcraft subtext which may or may not be on purpose.
*I will give points for plot, how well it engages it’s audience , artwork, how accurate it’s information is and how well it conveys it. These will be as unbiased as I can make it regardless of the books intentions. After all, a crappy book is a crappy book.

BASIC FORMAT FOR REVIEW
-Cover Art-
Title:
Author:
Illustrator:
ISBN:
Publishing Company:
Year:

Genera:

Format:

Theme:

Brief Plot Summary:

Review:

Points:
PLOT
ENGAGEMENT
ARTWORK
ACCURACY
CONVEYANCE
CREATIVITY